Easter Rowan

IMG_4276

As you may remember this is my year of Rowan, where I am primarily knitting with Rowan yarns or Rowan patterns.  When I came across this pattern a few months back I knew I wanted to make it, but of course use a Rowan yarn. IMG_3977

I have enjoyed getting to know a lot of the Rowan yarns over these past few months, and at this point I would have to say Rowan Felted Tweed DK is my favorite. I love the texture of the wool/ alpaca/viscose blend and the colors are just beautiful. Also the yardage is just wonderful 191 for a 50 gram ball. It’s an easy yarn to work with and because of it been mostly a wool alpaca blend joining a new ball is a breeze with the spit method.

Now you might be asking yourself “what the heck is the spit method?”  It is a great way to join yarns together without having to weave in ends or knots.  It’s very simple, but let me warn you that it only works on an animal fibered yarn that is NOT a superwash. So in other words it will felt. Felted Tweed fall into this category, so of course this is the method of joining a new yarn that I used.

How I do this method is first get both ends of the yarn. The end of the ball you are working with and the beginning of the new ball. I like to untwist the plies of each end, but you really don’t have to.  Then lay the ends on top of each other and moisten with your spit. I know it sounds weird but it really does need to be your (or somebody’s) spit. There is something in the enzymes that causes this to work.  Next rub the wet ends together in your hands until the ends have felted together and joined.  Now you are ready to continue knitting.  Of course this works well for crochet too.

Now back to the sweater.

IMG_4277

I found the pattern on Ravelry and it’s called the Rose Bramble and it can be found in issue 61 of the Knitter, which is a UK knitting magazine; this particular issue has some great patterns that I think will come up later.  It calls for a DK weight yarn so I just knew Felted Tweed would work great.

IMG_4249

I found the cables and lace pattern to be not very difficult to master and fun to knit.  I did look at some of the finished pieces on Ravelry and found a few knitters had a bit of a problem with the collar. When I got to that point I did end up redoing it three times until I found a solution that finally worked for my broad shoulder.  I also decided that I wasn’t super thrilled with the cast on edge so I ended up with making a couple of changes to the pattern.

First I cast on with a provisional cast on with the idea to come back and do a bit of a ribbing. Which I did. I wasn’t sure if I would do a 3×3 or a 2x 2. In the end the 2×2 looked the best. The edging was about 2 inches.

Second when I got to the collar, I did 15 rows of 3×3 , then I decreases to a 2 x 2 rib, by (K 1, K2tog, P1, P2tog)  I then did a total of 10 rows of the 2×2 rib. Next I decrease to a 1×1 rib, by (K2tog, P2tog); I did 5 total rows of the 1 x1 ribbing.

I took some advice from other knitters and decided to bind off with a 3 stitch I cord bind off.  How that’s done, is when you are ready to bind off cast on 2 stitches. K 2, K2tog in the back loops, by k2tog in the back you are taking one stitch of the edge off the needles. Place the just worked stitches back on the left needle and repeat until all stitches have been worked. I do like the clean edge this bind off gives.IMG_4250

I had 5 balls of Felted tweed in color 161 Avocado, which is a really cool yellow green.  I think works perfect for an Easter and spring sweater. Here in Idaho Easter can be really cool this time of year, so I think the added warmth of the wool and alpaca will work well for this time of year and the short sleeves with help it to be no too warm.

I was really hoping to find a nice skirt to match with the yarn but so far I haven’t been able to find a nice floral (that I like) so what I might end up doing is wearing a cream colored broom skirt that I have and an elegant bamboo shawl that I wove a few years back.

All in all I love how this project turned out and I am looking forward to many years of wear.

Be on the lookout for my next Rowan project. I will tell you that it will involve Summerspun and one of my favorite styles of patterns.  I am also planning on participating in Rowan’s first CAL (crochet along), which starts next week and I will be using summerlite in a blues color scheme. So plan to come back and see how my progress goes.

About yarnsnthreads

Melanie is a fiber artist by profession, a person of faith by choice, she is always looking for something new to learn so she reads and reads. As a fiber artist she has had more than 20 years experience as a Hands on fiber artist and fiber arts teacher specializing in crochet, knitting, and spinning, and weaving. She has taught classes through various yarn stores, Community Education Programs, as well as in 4 H programs around the Treasure Valley and Idaho. She also spent several years as a pattern tester for numerous yarn and design companies. She is also the lead designer for Yarns N Threads Fiber Mill and Craftown.com. With all her fiber arts you would think that she would have no more room in her life for other interests and things to learn, this blog is about all parts of Melanie’s life. You will never know what might be on her mind so come back often and see what she is up to now.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Year of Rowan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

