I love – hate patterns (project) of the month

    IMG_4225

 Are you like me? You come across some neat craft project that is a make a part each month for a few months or even for a whole year, and are like me, you just have to sign up and get started.  Well this year I have started three of them (so far), even as I am finishing up one I started last year that I didn’t get finished. Oh well what can I say I just love making stuff.

IMG_4228

This year I am working along with a group to use up stash yarn and make a pair of sock each month. I am also making wool appliqué ornanment each month and lastly I came across a quilt block a month through Buttermilk Basin designs. Now here is the crazy part. I don’t quilt. I really don’t want to quilt so why in the heck would I start the quilt block of the month? Because it’s cute, right! It’s got a sheep on it and everything.

IMG_4220

Because I really don’t have an interest in making a quilt I decided that I would make each block into a mini wall hanging.  Which means I needed some type of hanger. Which was a good thing as I asked my hubby who likes to blacksmith as his hobby to see if he could make up some kind of hanger for me.

IMG_4226

I am so please with what he came up with from my simple pencil drawing.

IMG_4223

Now you might remember back a few days ago I talked about punch needle embroidery and why I can’t do traditional embroidery anymore.  I have an allergy to steel. I can’t use steel needles because they will cause my fingers to split and bleed if I touch them for any amount of time. And let’s face it who what to work on a project for just 15 minutes or so. Yes I don’t use steel knitting needles either. Luckily there are several types of needles being made today, wood bamboo to just name a few. I however really like working with vintage Boye or Susan Bates nylon needles if I can find them.

IMG_4222

So you might be asking yourself if you have this allergy why are you making wool appliqué items. Well I have found out that if I use vintage English embroidery needles they don’t seem to hurt my fingers as much. So I can usually get a small project completed before my fingers really start to hurt, thus why all my wool projects are small ones.  I also wait at least a week between projects to help my fingers heal up. I think I would pay for it if I worked on wool appliqué every day. Which does work well for these once a month projects

.IMG_4221IMG_4230

 

About yarnsnthreads

Melanie is a fiber artist by profession, a person of faith by choice, she is always looking for something new to learn so she reads and reads. As a fiber artist she has had more than 20 years experience as a Hands on fiber artist and fiber arts teacher specializing in crochet, knitting, and spinning, and weaving. She has taught classes through various yarn stores, Community Education Programs, as well as in 4 H programs around the Treasure Valley and Idaho. She also spent several years as a pattern tester for numerous yarn and design companies. She is also the lead designer for Yarns N Threads Fiber Mill and Craftown.com. With all her fiber arts you would think that she would have no more room in her life for other interests and things to learn, this blog is about all parts of Melanie’s life. You will never know what might be on her mind so come back often and see what she is up to now.
This entry was posted in Penny wool. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

