Fine Art is fine sock yarn

 

 

I have a bit of a confession to make……

 

IMG_4212

I love socks! For as long as I can remember I have loved socks, the crazier the better. As a matter of fact I usually wear socks and not shoes any chance I get.  I still have a pair that I was given when I was in high school because they looked like they have hamburgers on them.

When I became a knitter one of the first things I learned to make was socks. And that was what they call, the beginning of a sock love affair that I don’t see ending anytime soon.  Once the summer temps break I break out my socks and wear them until it gets to hot to have anything on my feet.

When it comes to knitting socks I like lace, texture, color and even plain vanilla. The great thing about knitting socks is they’re a small-ish project that doesn’t take a long term commitment.  So if you feel like knitting something Fair Isle a sock won’t take forever to complete. Or if you want to learn lace knitting a sock is a great place to start.

IMG_4215

Thankfully there are some very good books and tons of free patterns out there so the investment for patterns can be very reasonable, which in turn allows for your money to go to buying really good sock yarn. Which I totally recommend, why spend all that time on knitting a sock with cheap yarn that will wear out after just a few wearings?  I recently bought some sock yarn from eBay that was from China and I think I wore them for all of three times before the bottom of the foot wore a huge hole in them. So some times you really do get what you pay for.

Now when it comes to darning socks I hold to the school of thought that says don’t do it.  I know some sock yarns can be very expensive and we all want to get as much use as we can out of our socks. But I figure if I can get a year or so of wear out of a pair then I am happy and I have recouped my investment. After all if they wear out I can always make more, which in my eyes is a win win.

IMG_4216

Because I am a sock knitter, finding a new sock yarn is always a treat. This past summer I came across Rowan’s Fine Art sock yarn. All I can say is; it really is a treat to knit with.  I have a couple of skeins of this 45% wool,20% Mohair,20% silk and 25% Polyamide (or nylon)yarn, so as this is my year of Rowan I thought I would break out a skein and see how it works up.

The first skein I chose was Elm color number 309. The skein comes in a very generous 437 yards so there is plenty for the average to maybe even a bit on the larger size foot. Luckily I have small feet so I will be able to get a regular pair and probably a short pair too.  Because this is a cream to light brown tonal color way I decided that a lace pattern would work perfect for this yarn. I also think a cable pattern would work just as well.  For the pattern I chose a free one from Ravelry called the February Ladies sock.

http://www.ravelry.com/projects/yarnsnthreads/february-lady-sock

I have knit this February Ladies sweater a few years back and loved the look of it so I thought the socks would work up great as well. I am really pleased with the pattern and the yarn. I found the pattern to be easy to follow and a joy to knit. The lace pattern helps keep in interesting even on the second sock. So no second sock syndrome here.

IMG_4214

Now for the yarn, I have used blends before, I would have to say most of my sock yarns are blends but this is the first wool mohair blend I have worked with.  Like I have said before Rowan seems to like to use mohair as a blend in a lot of their yarns and I am beginning to see why. I like the feel, not to stiff or scratchy yet tighly spun for long wear. I am sure the mohair will add strength and longevity to my socks. Only time will tell that. I also really like the subtle color change in this color way. I wouldn’t normally think to buy a cream to light brown color but I will say it turned out just great for this pattern.

I am already plotting my next pair of socks with Fine Art, so stay tuned.

About yarnsnthreads

Melanie is a fiber artist by profession, a person of faith by choice, she is always looking for something new to learn so she reads and reads. As a fiber artist she has had more than 20 years experience as a Hands on fiber artist and fiber arts teacher specializing in crochet, knitting, and spinning, and weaving. She has taught classes through various yarn stores, Community Education Programs, as well as in 4 H programs around the Treasure Valley and Idaho. She also spent several years as a pattern tester for numerous yarn and design companies. She is also the lead designer for Yarns N Threads Fiber Mill and Craftown.com. With all her fiber arts you would think that she would have no more room in her life for other interests and things to learn, this blog is about all parts of Melanie’s life. You will never know what might be on her mind so come back often and see what she is up to now.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Year of Rowan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

